Oram secures top-10 overall as Mitchelton-BikeExchange play it safe on the final stage at the Tour of Taiyuan

Niu grabs a top-10 finish as crosswinds cause chaos on stage five of the Tour of Taiyuan
May 30, 2019
Mitchelton-BikeExchange to make their first appearance in South Korea
June 11, 2019

The Tour of Taiyuan came to a close with another bunch sprint as Mitchelton-BikeExchange played it safe as attention turns to upcoming races.

Kiwi James Oram held onto his top-10 placing in the general classification to round out a solid week of racing in China, while Niu Yikui sneaked inside the top-20 in a messy sprint finale.

The team finally managed to put a man in the breakaway as Jiankun Liu fought his way into the escape group on the final stage, but they couldn’t hold the peloton at bay as Martin Laas (Team Illuminate) won his fourth stage of the week.

Jiankun Liu:
“It was another fast stage with average speed of more than 48km/h. It was the final day of the race and many teams wanted to have takeaway a good result, so it’s not easy to go into the breakaway.”

“But at least I tried, and I can feel my condition is getting better and better. In the final sprint we played it safe because there are more important races to do in the next month.”

James Victor (Sports Director):
“It’s been a good week for us but without a result. The boys have built some good condition this week and are feeling good going to Korea next.”

“Today was a messy bunch sprint, and I didn’t want any risks with a lot of racing to go in June, both international and the China National series racing, there are still 10 more days of racing in June.”

“Liu made the final breakaway today and did some strong work. He was a little unwell at the start of the Tour, but he seems to have recovered and healthy going to Korea.”

Tour of Taiyuan – Stage 6 Results:
1. Martin Laas (Team Illuminate) 2:47:01
2. Georgios Bouglas (Ningxia Sports Lottery – Livall Cycling Team)
18. Yikui Niu (Mitchelton – BikeExchange) ST

Tour of Taiyuan – Final General Classification:
1. Cameron Piper (Team Illuminate) 5:49:47
2. Luca Raggio (Neri Sottoli – Selle Italia – KTM) +1:26
10. James Oram (Mitchelton – BikeExchange) +4:46